bti: fix a crash for echo -n|bti
authorPete Zaitcev <zaitcev@redhat.com>
Mon, 12 Apr 2010 18:49:57 +0000 (12:49 -0600)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Thu, 22 Apr 2010 00:48:56 +0000 (17:48 -0700)
My previous patch was not thought out completely and so the new bti
crashes if fed an input without a newline, like this:
 echo -n "status test" | bti

The obvious fix seems the most appropriate approach in this case.

Signed-off-by: Pete Zaitcev <zaitcev@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
bti.c

diff --git a/bti.c b/bti.c
index 02b8aea..c0c5804 100644 (file)
--- a/bti.c
+++ b/bti.c
@@ -144,7 +144,8 @@ static char *get_string(const char *name)
        if (!fgets(string, 999, stdin))
                return NULL;
        temp = strchr(string, '\n');
-       *temp = '\0';
+       if (temp)
+               *temp = '\0';
        return string;
 }
 
@@ -749,7 +750,8 @@ static char *get_string_from_stdin(void)
        if (!fgets(string, 999, stdin))
                return NULL;
        temp = strchr(string, '\n');
-       *temp = '\0';
+       if (temp)
+               *temp = '\0';
        return string;
 }